Fathom 9 - SHS: Blue Notes from a Brown Soul | The Wonderful World of Carminelitta

Newness for your ears: SHS: Blue Notes from a Brown Soul v.1, Fathom 9


Cover artwork for SHS: Blue Notes from a Brown Soul v.1

I don’t usually post about a project only a few minutes after the first listen, but I have to say I owe it to my friend Fathom 9. I told myself I should write about his wonderful music on many occasions but strangely never took the time to do so. That’s just me and my weird behaviour… Anyway, in case you are not familiar with Memphis-based producer, you are clearly missing out and I kindly suggest you get up-to-speed with the super productive and amazingly creative artist, with his numerous projects and singles. Fathom 9 is clearly one of the hardest working persons I know. He is also very versatile, which is not too surprising for a fellow Gemini, even though it’s not two personalities that he presents to the world, but a myriad.
As I said, I could have written about him and his music on many occasions (I did feature him quite a few times on my podcast though, so you can get familiar there as well) but what prompted me to do it here and now is the very fresh release of his new project. I think this is the first time in the history of this blog that “newness for your ears” really means what it is supposed to. Today is the first day of summer (I know it may be difficult to believe for some people, as the weather can be far from summery in certain areas, but I’m getting slightly sidetracked…) and also “la fête de la musique” in my beloved home country so I believe this project is a perfect way to celebrate. As you may have noticed I am being quite talkative tonight, but that’s what good music and inspiration will do to me. I will spare you more rambling though and focus on the matter at hand, which is the second part of his Soul-Heart Sessions, the magnificent SHS: Blue Notes from a Brown Soul v.1 (Sounds 4 Sojourners).
The title itself should tell you that Fathom 9 is a poet. He is indeed a very talented writer and MC as well, but he can tell you a story with his music. Those “blue notes” will fly and flutter like butterflies, taking you on a beautiful journey. While he can explore very dark and tortured dimensions at times, the producer also indulges in beautiful, inspiring and soothing music, which is the case here. I often say that music can heal and help lift your spirits when you’re feeling down, but it can also make you feel even more positive and inspired when you are already in a very good mood. This is what happened to me tonight and I am still somewhat floating on clouds right now, such is the beauty of Fathom 9’s music. As the wordplay on the title indicates, this collection of instrumentals has an obvious jazz orientation, which makes it very smooth and relaxing, while giving it a reflective and inspiring dimension. But it is also a project that will make you nod your head to the beat and get caught in the rhythm of the drums, which I appreciate greatly. As I listen to it once again, starting with the beautiful Reflections at dawn (Rushen’s Ode), I am again mesmerised by the superb horns and enter this very welcoming world where words seem superficial and not really appropriate to describe what is going on. What I would recommend is that you give it a listen and feel the music for yourself, experience its caress and let your body and mind relax as you drift to another universe.

To enter the wonderful galaxy of Fathom 9 and discover the incredible Blue Notes from a Brown Soul v.1, all you need to do is head to the Bandcamp page, where you can stream it and buy it for a minimum of $3 (seriously?!). Please support quality music and spread the word about it. You can also click on the link below and start the journey.

Find out more about Fathom 9 on his blog, Facebook, Twitter

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

3 Comments (+add yours?)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: